Congress of the United States

Washington, D.C. 20515

August 25, 2021

The Honorable Frank Kendall III Secretary of the Air Force 1670 Air Force Pentagon Washington, DC 20330-1670

Secretary Kendall,

We write as a bipartisan, bicameral delegation from the State of Ohio on behalf of the 179th Airlift Wing located in Mansfield, Ohio. We fully support their proposed transition to a new Information Warfare Wing (IWW)/ Cyberspace Wing (CW). The 179th is uniquely positioned to utilize its strategic location and local assets to ensure exceptional cyber capabilities for the warfighter and enjoys strong community support for this proposed transition.

We are proud of the 179th's long flying history and remain supportive of that mission. We also recognize that in order to combat today's threats, it is vital that our military continue to develop cyber capabilities in our active duty, Guard, and Reserve forces. We believe the 179th exceeds the criteria for hosting the IWW/CW and that the community offers the educated and skilled workforce necessary to maintain this critical strategic capability for our national defense.

Ohio's commitment to the U.S. Air Force is clear. Wright-Patterson Air Force Base in Dayton is the Air Force's research hub, where public, private, and educational stakeholders collaborate daily. Located between the Ohio State University in Columbus and Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, two cyberwarfare pipelines within 85 miles of the base, makes Mansfield an ideal location for the IWW/CW mission; Mansfield is ready to host the new IWW/CW mission.

As you move forward with the selection process, we would like to reaffirm that the Community of Mansfield, the Ohio National Guard leadership, and the Ohio Congressional delegation fully support the transitioning of the 179th to the Information Warfare Wing/Cyberspace Wing mission. Thank you for your commitment to our national security and our nation's servicemembers.

Sincerely,

Troy Balderson

Member of Congress

Congress of the United States

Washington, D.C. 20515

United States Senator

Steve Chabot

Member of Congress

Joyce Beatty Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Bob Gibbs

Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Tim Ryan Member of Congress

Anthony Gonzalez Member of Congress

Rob Portman **United States Senator**

From R. Warn Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Warren Davidson Member of Congress

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

David P. Joyce Member of Congress